Mobile User Engagement Glossary | Storyly

Learn about

What is sunsetting?

Sunsetting is a way to identify and stop sending messages to disengaged users, cleaning up your list. At times users become unengaged in an item, yet don’t make an effort to unsubscribe from email lists or uninstall applications. 

While there is an opportunity for re-engagement with the best possible system, leaving these users in your campaigns and continuing to send messages is tricky. It adversely impacts your open rates and for email, may prompt low need or spam arranging by ISPs, which can hurt deliverability for your whole promotion. Organizations should create sunsetting approaches to recognize when a client is adequately withdrawn (in view of spam reports, time since last snap or open, and so forth) so they’re left off of active records. A few approaches incorporate one last attempt to connect before sunsetting.